Alice A. Walker Award

The Alice A. Walker Award

The Alice A. Walker Award honors a member of Cortland County whose volunteer leadership demonstrates the following: a commitment to community service, an independent spirit and outlook, a clear sense of justice, and an ability to focus on an area of need in the community. 

We hope to inspire future generations to be active, informed citizens and look forward to many more years of serving our community. 

Past Awardees

Jo Shaffer (2023)

Lori Megivern (2022)

Sara Earl (2019)

Sandra L. Price and Pamela Jenkins (2018)

Dorothy Hopkins (2017)

Mary Alice Bellardini (2015)

Bonnie Heath and JoAnn Wickman (2014)

Sheila Cohen (2013)

Mary Jane Uttech (2012)

Cindy Lewis (2011)

Sharon Stevans (2010)

Anne Doyle (2009)

Jamie Dangler (2008)

Pictured: Jo Shaffer, 2023 recipient of the Alice A. Walker Award. Photo courtesy of Reed Cleland.

Nominate Someone! 

Nominations should include the name, address, phone number, and email address of both the candidate and the nominator. The nomination should include the candidate’s background, current activities, and other pertinent information, as well as the reason for the nomination especially how the nominee exemplifies the qualities of Alice A. Walker. 

Complete nominations should be emailed to or mailed to LWV Cortland County, P.O. Box 22, Cortland, NY 13045, and received no later than May 1. 

The awardee will be the League’s guest and receive the award at the League’s Annual Dinner Meeting on Wednesday, June 19, 2024, at the Center for the Arts of Homer, NY. 

Contact Information: Kim Cameron at (315)427-8291 or Jo Schaffer at (607)753-7245